Product Review: Sunsilk Co-Creations Expert-Perfect Straight Shampoo, Conditioner and Spray


Disclaimer: I was lucky enough to be given these products to trial by Cosmopolitan, but my opinion of the products is entirely my own and the result of my own experience.

On Monday I tweeted that I had received some ‘exciting new hair products’ to trial. Well, for those that’s interest was piqued, I won’t keep you in suspense any longer.

Introducing, the new haircare collection by Sunsilk – Sunsilk Co-Creations Expert-Perfect Straight Shampoo, Conditioner and Spray. The co-creator for this line is Yuko Yamashita who also worked on the predecessor of this line, the Straight Perfection Collection.

Sunsilk Co-Creations Expert-Perfect Straight Collection

The Expert-Perfect Straight Collection is described by Sunsilk as having advanced straight lock technology that encourages hair to dry straight and stay straight for up to 24 hours. Quite a big claim huh? I was so excited to try the products out that I hopped in the shower to try the products out immediately. So what did I think?

My first impressions of the product packaging was great. I love the big, stylish purple bottles and especially loved the lock/unlock button on the spray. Handy.

My actual impressions of the products of themselves were average. The shampoo foamed up nicely and had a pleasant fragrance, but left my hair feeling dry after rinsing. You know that feeling that your hair is rough and unpleasant after you wash it? Like that. Similarly the conditioner was pleasantly fragranced and creamy, but didn’t really work to counteract the dryness as my hair felt ratty afterwards as well. So I caved and applied some of my trusty TRESemme conditioner to my lengths and my hair loved me for it.

After getting out of the shower and absorbing the water from my hair with a towel (don’t rub your hair unless you enjoy frizz), I sprayed in some of the mist and found it to be a little sticky on my hair. I allowed my hair to dry naturally, and my hair looked the same as it always does when I do this (slightly wavy).

So, ultimately…

I wasn’t impressed with this product. Having used Sunsilk in the past I know that they have great quality, affordable products, but in this case they’ve not lived up to their name. My hair looked dull and was rough after use, nothing like my usually shiny, knot-free and manageable mane. I won’t be recommending this product to you, or anyone else (sorry Sunsilk!).

So ladies, if you’re after straight hair, don’t try this collection. Instead, use a shampoo and conditioner that make your hair look and feel amazing. Then apply a heat protector product and make friends with your hairdryer (and/or) straightener. Hey presto, straight hair!

Note: I used this product three times over three days. Yes, I’m one of those people who wash their hair everyday, oops!

Have you tried this, or any of Sunsilk’s other products? What are your tips for getting straight hair?

This entry was posted in Hair, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Product Review: Sunsilk Co-Creations Expert-Perfect Straight Shampoo, Conditioner and Spray

  1. I’m always hesitant to try shampoos that promise things like this one does, so thanks for letting me know it doesn’t work! Question, how do you get sample products from Cosmo?
    Also, I have nominated you for the Liebster blog award as well because I love reading your posts! Have a look here:

    http://moniquefischle.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/liebster-blog-award/

    • Emma says:

      Yep, big claims are a big warning sign for me…I don’t really believe in miracle hair treatments. I believe in hard work (styling)!

      I was fortunate to be on twitter at the right time, they were calling out for people to trial a product…I jumped at the chance. Definetly keep an eye out, they do this quite often :)

      Thanks for the nomination, whoever invented this little award is genius, it’s such a nice little way to brighten up a bloggers day :)

  2. Ingrid says:

    First of all, I love that you were so honest, it is always super easy to love a product simply because you got it for free…

    I have used Sunsilk’s volume range before and wasn’t happy. I now use Kevin Murphy’s Angel Wash and Rinse shampoo and conditioner which contains no sulphates and it has truly changed my hair. I only wash it 3 times a week now (more if I have been to the gym obviously) and my hair loves it. I truly believe that sulphate-free products are the way to go x

  3. xxxMissVxxx says:

    I don’t like sunsilk simply because my hair feels really plastic-y after using it. Lucky for me, my hair is very easy to straighten so all i do is make sure it’s dry, spray on some heat protector, get my straightener and viola. after a few mins i have dead straight hair! It helps that my hair is fairly straight in the first place but i don’t understand how a shampoo and conditioner could actually make your hair straighter.

  4. catcher224 says:

    i’v just finished using sunsilk striaght lock (well it says that but really its not true) as you can see i didnt find this product really convincing at all it made my hair more curlier than ever and very stringy after use i wouldnt recommend this product to anyone at all in my case i switched to tresemme its brilliant and is the best hair fixer after using one that isnt very convincing so next time go for tresemme instead sorry sunsilk !

    • Emma says:

      Couldn’t agree more – I’m a huge fan of Tresseme products. Their colour protection conditioner makes my hair feel amazing…haven’t found another that I like as much!

      Thanks for commenting :)

  5. Anna says:

    Brought it, tried it, hated it! My hair still looked the same as it does when using my normal products if not worse and felt dry.
    Not a straight strand of hair on my head!!! >:(

    False advertising much!?

Leave a Reply

