The Big Chop


Remember my post a few weeks ago about hair I’d love to have, if only I was braver? Well yesterday I sat in my hairdressers chair and surprised myself.

“Cut it off” I said. “Like Olivia Palermo’s long bob, sleek, no layers, easy.”

20120610-105812.jpg
The inspiration.

My hairdresser was shocked as she’s been trying to convince me to cut my almost waist length hair for a year now. So she picked up and her scissors and my heart raced. Snip! one snip and 30cm (or so) of hair was on the ground. Wow! Look at me now!

20120610-165243.jpg

And you know what? I think I love it. And I feel so liberated! My head feels so light and my hair feels so healthy. I feel confident and short hair really isn’t as scary as I thought it would be. It’s just long enough to put up so I can still use my donut (yay!). But I guess now I’m going to need to be creative with how I style my hair (tousled curls are a must) – maybe I’ll even bring headbands back!

So readers I challenge you to make a change – big or small. Part your hair differently, experiment with colour, make use of those products you never use, or maybe even do the big chop. Come on, it’s fun!

This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Big Chop

  1. Rose says:

    Love your new hairstyle! And that stunning statement necklace you are wearing!

  2. anonymous says:

    I did that last year. It is the most bizarre feeling no being able to run your fingers through your hair! I live your haircut though. And the good thing is that it grows back!!

  3. beastandbeauty (Mystique) says:

    I also did that last year, but my hair won’t grow back now and I miss my long locks. Would love to know how people get their hair to grow! …If you are interested am running a global beauty blog swap at the moment on my blog. Would love for you to check it out and sign up!

  4. Madeupmaiden says:

    Your hair looks great! 🙂

  5. You look gorgeous and your hair is fantastic!

Leave a comment