Product Review: Rimmel Nail Polish (To Celebrate Beating Nail Biting!)


I have an announcement to make. I seem to have beaten my nail biting habit. At least for the last month, and now I have some lovely nails of which I am so vain. I’m kind of enjoying the vanity to considering I used to loath showing my hands. So don’t judge!

This development has been a fantastic opportunity for me as it has allowed me to dive into nail polish, the one beauty product I rarely bought or used for obvious reasons. So when I stumbled across Rimmel at the chemist, and saw that all the nail polishes were on special for a measly $6, I couldn’t resist buying a few.

(L-R) Double-Decker Red, Black Cherries, Cranberry Zest

Double Decker Red is as the name suggests, a lovely bright red. It’s glossy, it doesn’t stain, and it is brilliantly vampy. There’s nothing quite like a gorgeous red, the confidence it brings cannot be underestimated. Plus my boyfriend gave it the thumbs up. The next polish to be reviewed wasn’t so lucky…

Black Cherries was somewhat of a disappointment as it appeared more gothic and plum than I expected when applied. I had expected a delicious dark red-plum but alas no such luck. And for whatever reason it didn’t apply very well, and lacked the glossy factor I was hoping for. My boyfriend thought it was black which just made me dislike it more. It might be a good shade for winter, but I’m not sure I’ll be using it again.

Last but not least, we have Cranberry Zest which is a bright pink with a touch of cranberry red. As someone who doesn’t really pink nail polish unless it’s subtle…I am blown away. This polish is GORGEOUS! The red tones in it make it so much edgier than if it was a pure pink. It’s such a fun and eye catching shade that somehow doesn’t seem to OTT. In fact I wore it to work and got so many compliments! Plus it has a subtle fruity smell which I quite like. A new favourite!

Overall, I love Rimmel’s line of nail polishes. They’re fairly long lasting – I got a week of wear out of all of them, except Black Cherries because I didn’t like it. The brush applies well and they dried fairly quickly which was a plus as I’m so impatient. Overall, for this price you can’t go wrong and you can indulge your polish addiction. For the cost of one OPI polish you can get three Rimmel polishes…win!

Have you tried Rimmel nail polish? Like it? Hate it?

This entry was posted in General, Nail Polish, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Product Review: Rimmel Nail Polish (To Celebrate Beating Nail Biting!)

  1. Amy says:

    I love their nail products. Last month priceline had a buy one get one free, so I ended up getting about 12 nail polishes hahaha πŸ™‚

  2. There used to be a rimmel shade called “Ruby Me” which I was OBSESSED with! My favourite red ever, and then they discontinued it! Double decker red is now my backup red!
    Great post x

  3. Ingrid says:

    Congrats on beating the habit. The polishes look gorgeous.

  4. xxxMissVxxx says:

    I have those exact same colours that i bought all at once too! Agree with Black Cherry. It doesn’t go on as well as the others and doesn’t look nearly as good as I wanted it too.

    Congrats on the nail biting habit. it’s a tough one to break!

  5. Congrats on kicking the habit!

    Funnily enough, Black Cherries is one of my favourite colours! Mine usually goes on quite shiny and a plummy dark colour…perhaps it’s because I have the older bottles though? (Yes, I say bottles because genius me liked it so much I inadvertently bought it twice, but hey, I have a back up now!).

    Oh and I love cranberry zest, the scarlet is so pretty and I too, love the scent which lingers until well into the next day! I reviewed it recently on my blog…how come you didn’t buy the GWP that David Jones was offering?

    • Emma says:

      What! Oh damn I bought these from Priceline… Hate missing out on GWPs! But oh well. Glad your black cherries works and looks fab, maybe I just got a dud…

Leave a Reply

